RSCM Ireland

Royal School of Church Music in Ireland   ~   Scoil Ríoga Cheol na hEaglaise in Éirinn

Events ~ Voice for Life Award Winners' Service

September 27, 2008 5:00 PM

Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin

A special Evensong service will take place in Christ Church Cathedral, sung by 25 young people who are all Bronze, Silver or Gold Voice for Live award winners. The singers are all members of either the Palestrina Choir of the Pro Cathedral, St Bartholomew’s Church Ballsbridge, or Christ Church Girls Choir.

During the service, the award winners will be presented with their certificates by the Dean of Christ Church, the Very Revd Dermot Dunne, together with the Administrator of St Mary’s Pro-Cathedral, Canon John Flaherty.

The music will be directed by RSCM Ireland Education Officer, Ms Judy Martin, and the award winners will sing alongside the lay vicars of the cathedral choir.

“These are ordinary children who have, through their dedication and hard work, developed the skills needed to accomplish extraordinary things” says Peter Parshall, Co-ordinator of RSCM Ireland. “Their commitment as members of a choir both enables and enhances worship in their churches week by week and we celebrate their ministry as choristers”.

Bronze Award Winners

Robert Adams (Distinction) - St Bartholomew’s Dublin
Sean Bean (Distinction) - Palestrina Choir
Cathal Darby (Merit) - Palestrina Choir
Adam Dargan (Merit) - St Bartholomew’s Dublin
Issac Dempsey (Distinction) - St Bartholomew’s Dublin
William Doyle (Distinction) - St Bartholomew’s Dublin
Karl Hegarty (Merit) - Palestrina Choir
Sam Holohan (Merit) - Palestrina Choir
Liam Lonergan (Distinction) - Palestrina Choir
Joe McDonagh (Merit) - Palestrina Choir
Niamh Murray (Merit) - Christ Church Cathedral
Louis O Carroll (Distinction) - Palestrina Choir
Thomas Redmond (Merit) - Palestrina Choir
Shannon White (Pass) - Christ Church Cathedral

Silver Award Winners

Grace Bergin (Distinction) - Christ Church Cathedral
Michael Corcoran (Merit) - Palestrina Choir
Christopher Graham (Merit) - Palestrina Choir
Emily Kinlan (Pass) - Christ Church Cathedral
Anna Lawless (Merit) - Christ Church Cathedral
Kevin Lyons (Pass) - Palestrina Choir
Caroline Murphy (Merit) - Christ Church Cathedral
Hannah O’Connor (Merit) - Christ Church Cathedral
Greta Scanlon (Distinction) - Christ Church Cathedral
Dominica Williams (Distinction) - Christ Church Cathedral

Gold Award Winners

Louis Mahon - Palestrina Choir - passed with honours, achieving a score of 90%.

© Copyright 2010 RSCM Ireland